Just One Smile Is Very Alluring

I have to confess. I’ve invested my time in reading Chinese novels(xianxia mostly) this semester more than I’ve spent it on studying. It started with a simple manhua I found on the MangaRock app – Tales of Demons & Gods. It caught my interest enough and to my delight it had over 300 chapters translated already! That was how I found my first source of addiction. It hardly took much time for me to reach the latest chapter. Although at the time it was translated almost daily (Mon-Sat excluding sponsored chapters) I craved for more. That was how I started reading  I Shall Seal The Heavens/ISSTH and Battle Through The Heavens/BTTH. I managed to read ISSTH till book 5 which is around 700 chapters. The story got a bit too repetitive though that isn’t surprising for most of xianxia novels.

After reading a couple other novels, I found myself bored again. It was basically the same kind of plot everywhere. I didn’t mind it that much though. What I found most amusing in these kind of novels are the character’s interactions between each other. But it got kind of annoying to read “voluptuous” girls throwing their body at the MC every single time. Maybe well- since I’m a girl. I wanted to read one with a female lead! Coincidentally, not too long ago I complained to my sister about the lack of nice JRPG games with a female MC. So I did what any person with Internet would do…..

I used google. And that’s how I found my latest source of addiction. Pretty sure I would’ve overdosed a long time ago if these novels were considered some kind of drug. Between ongoing translations such as DKC and completed ones like A Lonesome Fragrance Waiting to be Appreciated, I devoured them all. The latter being exceptionally 10/10 filled with heart wrenching moments but thankfully it ended on a good note~

Okay! Back to the main topic at hand(as you can see from the title). I’m here to talk about the cutest Chinese novel I’ve read so far.

Just One Smile Is Very Alluring

justonesmile

Taken from novelupdates:

What is it that makes a man fall in love with a woman at first sight? Appearance? Aura? Wealth? NO.

When campus prince and gaming expert, student Xiao Nai first saw Bei Wei Wei, what made him fall in love was not her extraordinary beauty, but her slim and slender fingers that were flying across the keyboard and her calm and composed manner! Embarrassing, no?

At the same time, gaming expert Bei Wei Wei, at this time and place was on the computer, methodically commanding a guild war, and won a perfect and glorious victory despite being at a disadvantage, and was completely unaware that cupid is nearby. Soon after basketball player, swimmer, all-around excellent student, and game company president, Xiao Nai, uses both tactics on and offline to get to this beauty’s heart. Therefore, this romance slowly bloomed.

The art was more than enough to lock me in. The manhua only had a few chapters but I recently found the novel was fully translated! It didn’t matter that I have two upcoming tests. Nor did I cared that my short story assignment needed someone to write it. Unlike many romance novels, there were no misunderstanding drama. They were both considered good looking and suit each other very much. It was adorable to see Wei Wei slowly fall in love with Xiao Nai and how she befriends XN’s friends easily to his amusement. Dared to badmouth his wife? Be prepared to fail your last continuous quest! Dared to use his wife as a villain in a video contest? Be prepared to lose your levels!  The chapters itself are pretty short but Wei Wei’s thoughts makes the whole experience hilariously cute. For example: An excerpt from Chapter 22

Wei Wei, whose soul has flown to the sky, thinks — ah, Great Master’s home is nearby?

In the distance, Xiao Nai is riding his bicycle over.

Wei Wei, whose soul has flown to the sky, thinks — turns out not only does the Great Master look handsome riding on a white horse, he’s even handsome riding a bike ~~~

Xiao Nai stops the bike with a foot and says, “Get on.”

Wei Wei, whose soul has flown to the sky, thinks — Eee, Great Master wants her to ride together?

Adorable right?! Ugh. It makes me wanna pinch her cheeks truly~~

In any case I’m still enjoying the story and reading it slowly  ⃛ヾ(๑❛ ▿ ◠๑ )  But I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a short fluff~

 

my sister told me it has a drama series
send help!!
7 thoughts on “Just One Smile Is Very Alluring

  1. Hi there ! I never normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

    Like

  2. Yesssss there’s a drama version and also a movie version of this novel ❤ I watched the drama version and it was soo good . The actor who plays Xiao Nai is so handsome *heart eyes* There's 30 episodes 'only' hahaha ^^ From the novel we mostly see Wei Wei's point of view right? But in the drama they showed quite some parts of Master's point of view too ! And I also loved that they trust each other and doesn't fight just based on baseless rumors.

    Like

    • I know!! O(≧∇≦)O My sister told me about them afterwards and I’m super excited to watch it once my break starts in June! Handsome Xiao Nai? *prepares tissue for future nosebleed*
      Oooh~ watching from Master’s POV sounds interesting. I can’t agree anymore. The main part of the novel that enhances the cuteness factor was due to lack of lame cliche misunderstandings that would “shake” their relationship. Being mature about it reflects their age(since they’re already Uni students)~

      Like

Leave a Reply

